Delete a Bucket

Delete a Bucket

Full and Cluster Administrators can delete a bucket.

Performing Deletion

Bucket-deletion may be appropriate either when an existing bucket is no longer needed; or when all items within an existing bucket need to be replaced — and bucket-deletion (followed by bucket-recreation) is determined to constitute a faster process than the deletion of each individual item.

To delete a bucket using the Couchbase Web Console: access the console, and left-click on the Buckets tab, in the vertical navigation-bar at the left-hand side.

The Buckets screen now appears, showing the buckets that have already been defined for your system:

To delete a particular bucket, left-click on the bucket's row in the UI; then, when the Delete button appears, left-click on it:

A confirmation-dialog is now provided, by means of which you can now either cancel bucket-deletion, or elect to proceed:

If you elect to proceed, by left-clicking on the Delete Bucket button, the bucket and all its data are deleted from the system; and the bucket is no longer represented within the Buckets screen of the Couchbase Web Console.

Using the CLI and REST API

You can also delete a bucket by using the CLI command bucket-delete, or the REST API method rest-bucket-delete.

Bucket-Deletion and RBAC

User-access to buckets is controlled by Role-Based Access Control (RBAC). See Authorization for details.

Note that roles assigned to users may contain privileges for accessing specfic buckets by name. If such a bucket is deleted, all role-assignments to that resource are deleted from the cluster.