Removing a node marks the node for removal from the cluster.
Removing a node does not stop the node from servicing requests. Instead, it only marks the node as ready for removal from the cluster. You must perform a rebalance operation to complete the removal process. Once a node is removed, it is no longer part of the cluster and can be switched off, updated, or upgraded.
- At least one of the original nodes is maintained in the cluster, and this node is listed in the client's server configuration.
- The client's server configuration is appropriately updated to include at least one new node before the last old node is removed.
Nodes can be removed either via the Couchbase Web Console or CLI.
Using the Couchbase Web Console
You can remove a node from the cluster from within the Manage Server Nodes section of the Couchbase Web Console.
- Click on the Remove Server button next to the node you want to remove. A warning will appear to confirm that you want to remove the node.
- Click Remove to mark the node for removal.
You cannot mark a node for removal from the command-line without simultaneously initiating a rebalance operation. The rebalance command accepts one or more --server-add or --server-remove options. This adds or removes the server from the cluster, and immediately initiates a rebalance operation.
T o remove a node during a rebalance operation:
> couchbase-cli rebalance --cluster=127.0.0.1:8091 \ -u Administrator -p Password \ --server-remove=192.168.0.73